Nonfiction

Staff Pick Badge
Owls of the Eastern Ice: A Quest to Find and Save the World's Largest Owl Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780374228484
Availability: BACKORDERED - Availability will be delayed
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 4th, 2020

Explore the easternmost reaches of the Russian wilderness and join in the hunt for the world's largest (and possibly rarest) owl species, the Blakiston's fish owl. These massive birds inhabit only the wildest places, feasting on salmon and trading eerie calls across the snow-covered landscape. Slaght makes you feel like you're part of the expedition, experiencing their disappointments, reveling in their triumphs, and trying to stay upright after the endless obligatory imbibing of vodka to gain the trust of the locals. – Jessica


Staff Pick Badge
Why Fish Don't Exist: A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781501160271
Availability: BACKORDERED - Availability will be delayed
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 14th, 2020

This slippery, twisty, brilliant book begins as an admiring portrait of David Starr Jordan, a naturalist famously undaunted by seeing his life’s work smashed on the floor in the 1906 earthquake. Miller makes a personal story out of her quest to understand persistence in the face of the vast howling entropy of the universe. But then, the plot twists! She was setting us up all along for a much bigger story, one that investigates a murder, the biggest crimes of the past couple centuries, the limits of personal philosophies, the dangers of worshiping a hero or an ideal, and of course the taxonomic invalidity of “fish.”


Staff Pick Badge
Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525510314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - May 12th, 2020

There’s more than one way to have your mind altered by mushrooms. The worst is to be an ant zombified by the parasitic Ophiocordyceps. The best way is to read this book by brilliant ecologist/mycologist Sheldrake, who combines rigorous science with lyrical writing to bring us to the frontiers of what we know about fungi – knowledge that is rewriting how we think about forests, plants, evolution, species, symbiosis, individuals, and our own selves. A must-read for fans of Pollan, Wohlleben, or MacFarlane. – Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060006938
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: Harper Perennial - January 31st, 2006

This is the best book I’ve ever read on the Black Plague – a tremendously interesting collision of natural history and human history. I’ve thought about it a lot this year, for perspective but also recognizing old patterns in human nature. 2020 has been some year, but let’s all be glad we’re not living through 1348. – Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?: And Other Questions About Dead Bodies Cover Image
By Caitlin Doughty, Dianné Ruz (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393358490
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 22nd, 2020

A collection of essays penned by mortician/author Doughty in which she answers questions children have asked her about death and burial practices. – Justice


Staff Pick Badge
Because Internet: Understanding the New Rules of Language Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735210943
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: Riverhead Books - July 21st, 2020

The quirky, mutable language of the Internet is a grammarian’s nightmare and a linguist’s dream. This is the sort of fun, fascinating book that will have you reading bits aloud to anyone who’ll listen. -Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
Solutions and Other Problems Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982156947
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - September 22nd, 2020

Over 500 pages of Allie Brosh’s nuttiness is just what I need right now.  Known for her mental and emotional gymnastics to justify her quirky childhood behavior, this long-awaited book did not disappoint.  Fully and oddly illustrated, of course. –Mary Ann


Staff Pick Badge
Song in a Weary Throat: Memoir of an American Pilgrimage Cover Image
By Pauli Murray, Patricia Bell-Scott (Introduction by)
$22.95
ISBN: 9781631494581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - May 8th, 2018

The most intellectually invigorating and historically relevant book I read this year was this splendid memoir by Pauli Murray (1910-1985). Denied admission to UNC for race and Harvard for sex, Murray was an unsung architect of American civil rights, a legal scholar, Episcopalian priest, queer icon, friend of Eleanor Roosevelt, founder of NOW, went to jail for keeping her bus seat 15 years before Rosa Parks, integrated lunch counters 17 years before Greensboro, and her brilliant arguments about the 14th Amendment laid the legal foundation for victory in Brown v. Board and the career of Ruth Bader Ginsburg. – Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
Sunny Days: The Children's Television Revolution That Changed America Cover Image
$27.50
ISBN: 9781501137808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 12th, 2020

This was so inspirational and fascinating. I loved reading about the political landscape and social movement that brought about educational television for kids. – Kate


Staff Pick Badge
One Water Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781597099073
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: Boreal Books - October 25th, 2018

As a longtime Fairbanks taxicab driver and occasional reluctant wilderness hunting guide, Rob McCue has an unusual perspective on humanity. This entertaining and frequently scintillating collection of essays will appeal to readers of Robin Cody and Seth Kantner, or maybe Kerouac if he’d wound up on the Chena and had a longer attention span. Subjects include the strange streets of Fairbanks, hunting, shelter and community, and the pleasures of a long canoe trip. My favorite quarantine read. – Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
Trees in Trouble: Wildfires, Infestations, and Climate Change Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640091351
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: Counterpoint LLC - April 7th, 2020

An intriguing dive into the science and history behind wildfires and bark-beetle epidemics in the forests of the American West. -Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
Breath: The New Science of a Lost Art Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735213616
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: Riverhead Books - May 26th, 2020

An unexpectedly fascinating, practical, and mind-boggling exploration of how humans breathe, and how so many of us are surprisingly bad at it – including the history of odd and extreme breathing practices, ancient traditions and recent science, modern breathing problems, and some really bizarre facts about nostrils. An entertaining and informative book to read for health or curiosity. -Ruth


Staff Pick Badge
An Elegant Defense: The Extraordinary New Science of the Immune System: A Tale in Four Lives Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062698490
Availability: NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 24th, 2020

The science of the immune system is bewilderingly complex, but Pulitzer-winning reporter Richtel makes an earnest attempt through stories and analogies to make it make sense to anyone, since it is so vitally important to everyone. -Ruth