Water Mask (The Alaska Literary Series) (Paperback)

Water Mask (The Alaska Literary Series) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Oct 15 2:40am
(BIO - Alaskan Biographies, Autobiographies)


Water Mask is an adventurous memoir from Monica Devine, an itinerant therapist who travels to villages throughout Alaska and builds a life in this vast, captivating landscape. She traverses mountains, navigates sea ice with whalers, and whirls two thousand feet above tundra with a rookie bush pilot; she negotiates the death of her father, and the near-loss of her family’s cabin on the Copper River. Her journey is exhilarating—but not without reminders of the folly of romanticizing a northern landscape that both rejects and beguiles. Reflections on family, place, and culture are woven into a seductive tapestry of a life well-lived and well-loved.

About the Author

Monica Devine is an author and artist living in Eagle River, Alaska. Among her works are five children's books, including Iditarod: The Greatest Win Ever and Kayak Girl, the latter from the University of Alaska Press.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781602233720
ISBN-10: 1602233721
Publisher: University of Alaska Press
Publication Date: March 15th, 2019
Pages: 175
Series: The Alaska Literary Series