On the Genealogy of Morals: A Polemic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
On the Genealogy of Morals: A Polemic (Penguin Classics) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

Likely one of the most influential works of philosophy in the last 200 years, if not ever. Through its 3 essays, Friedrich Nietzsche's On the Genealogy of Morals examines almost the entirety of human history and pinpoints the origins of many aspects of human culture. Essential reading for anyone looking into philosophy.  

— From Elias's Picks


For the first time in Penguin Classics: Nietzsche's accessible exploration of key ideas in his landmark Beyond Good and Evil--in a lucid new translation

Friedrich Nietzsche claimed that the purpose of On the Genealogy of Morals was to call attention to his previous writings. But in fact the book does much more than that, elucidating and expanding on the cryptic aphorisms of Beyond Good and Evil, and presenting a coherent discussion of morality in a work that is more accessible than much of his previous writings.

For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

Friedrich Nietzsche (1844-1900) was a philosopher, critic, composer, and poet whose works include Thus Spoke Zarathustra, Beyond Good and Evil, Twilight of the Idols, The Antichrist, and his autobiography, Ecce Homo. Michael A. Scarpitti is an independent scholar of philosophy. Robert C. Holub is a professor of German at Ohio State University.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780141195377
ISBN-10: 0141195371
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: January 28th, 2014
Pages: 167
Language: English
Series: Penguin Classics