The Chariot at Dusk (Tiger at Midnight #3) (Hardcover)

The Chariot at Dusk (Tiger at Midnight #3) Cover Image
$18.99
NONE IN-STORE but we can probably order it for you

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Tiger at Midnight series.

Description


The sweeping, dramatic finale of Swati Teerdhala’s South India-inspired fantasy trilogy rounds out the epic, romantic tale of an assassin and a soldier fighting to save their country and their people. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard.

A queen at last. An empty palace. A kingdom to save.

Esha is reeling from Kunal’s betrayal, but she has a kingdom to rule from behind a thin smokescreen—pretending to be Princess Reha while she sends her most trusted soldiers to collect Reha and Kunal by any means necessary. Traitors, after all, must be punished.

But the Yavar are attacking from every front—tracking down Kunal and Reha in the remote mountains, kidnapping Harun—in search of legendary artifacts that will give them the power to break the precarious janma bond and release the destructive magic back into the lands.

Now that the race is on to find the missing artifacts, Esha must put aside her rage and work with Kunal again—but can she find the strength to forgive him, or will the Viper have her revenge at any cost?

About the Author


Swati Teerdhala is a storyteller at heart. After graduating from the University of Virginia with a BS in finance and BA in history, she tumbled into the marketing side of the technology industry. She’s passionate about many things, including how to make a proper cup of tea, the right ratio of curd to crust in a lemon tart, and diverse representation in the stories we tell. The Tiger at Midnight is her debut novel. She currently lives in New York City. You can visit her online at www.swatiteerdhala.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Archer at Dawn: “Teerdhala’s Hindu-mythology–inspired world is richly drawn, and the book’s fight scenes are detailed and action packed. A South Asian–inspired fantasy with a strong female lead.”
Kirkus Reviews

"If you crave Indian-inspired stories or yearn for unconventional South Asian protagonists, this is the book for you. Teerdhala’s ability to control pacing is exceptional, and her fantastic world-building coupled with her page-turning tension will keep you captivated."
— Brown Girl Magazine

Praise for The Tiger at Midnight: “Thrilling, entertaining, and beautifully written, this is one adventure YA fans won’t want to miss.”

— Buzzfeed

“[A] vibrantly imagined South Indian–inspired trilogy opener...Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy.”
Publishers Weekly

“Teerdhala’s debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they’re willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series.”

— ALA Booklist

“[A] lush blend of folklore, fantasy, and romance.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Set in a fantastical South Asia, this combination of romance, action, and magic will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh. A strong choice for YA fantasy shelves.”

— School Library Journal

“Cat-and-mouse maneuvering between assassin Esha and reluctant soldier Kunal will hold you in tantalizing suspense in this searing debut exploring love, loss, and destiny. The Tiger at Midnight is as alluring and fearless as its characters.”
— Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon


“A deliciously twisty cat-and-mouse story that had me racing through the pages. I love stories that challenge their protagonists’ beliefs, and both Esha and Kunal face complex, heart-breaking decisions in their journey to discover both themselves and each other.”
— Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire


“Follow Esha and Kunal on a dangerous journey through lush jungles and bustling cities, where the stakes are life and death, and victory comes at a terrible price. Teerdhala has written a masterful debut full of breathless twists and turns and a romance to ignite the senses.”
— Axie Oh, author of Rebel Seoul
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062869272
ISBN-10: 0062869272
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: June 29th, 2021
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: Tiger at Midnight